YouTube Copyright

The copyright issue that reared its ugly head yesterday got me thinking about YouTube, and the legalities of embedding YouTube clips into my own site, which is something  I have done. As this piece clearly states, if you don’t own the copyright on something you have no right to put it on your site, whether you host it or not. I’m still wondering where I stand – I effectively have rights to all the songs I’ve included YouTube videos of, but most of the videos themselves are actually unauthorized recordings, which were not done with the permission of either the respective artists or myself. Whoever shot and/or put these clips on YouTube has breached our copyright – am I in the clear if I reciprocate that breach? Who the hell owns the copyright in these recordings anyway? I don’t know. I need to do more research.   If anyone can point me in the right direction, please do so. Otherwise I think I may have to take most of this YouTube footage down. Hmm….

Leave a Reply

